Weaving my Anxiety

I am tired of constantly attempting to “battle” my anxiety.  My nails are nubs – I have never bitten them this short in my life.  My aunt is coming tonight to teach the kids and I how to crochet.  I had an idea that, if I am able to get proficient at it, I’d like to start crocheting blankets to donate.  I was going to put this out on my Facebook, etc. to see if I could get others to join me. The entire idea excites me so much, because it feels like a way to actually manifest something useful from all of this needless anxiety and worry.

I also think I’m going to do a Polar Plunge to raise money for my kids’ school.  My kids keep telling me that their dad is so much cooler than I am.  Admittedly, I’m slightly competitive.  I may not have a motorcycle (nor do I want one, but will always ride!), but I am cool in my own right.  They seem to think that because I make them do awful things like eat politely at the table (gasp!), etc. that I am not cool.  I don’t get it, I’m the one who got them in to every band they listen to!  Not a competition…but seriously, I turned them into music junkies and now I’m a stick in the mud?  Fine, I think I’m going to jump into the ocean.  They seem to forget their mommy is a tough cookie.

Hmm…maybe they actually know I’m the tough cookie, maybe that’s why they’re so headstrong when they’re with me.  Three reflections for sure.  All the more reason to crochet my anxiety away – little people, little problems, right?

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

