By Any Other Name…

One we were, my blood became yours

You slept on my heartbeat, your lungs grew with my air

The tiniest treasure laid warm on my breast

Infinity lacks the depth of your beauty

While years, like water, ran through my hands

Where a baby once slept, the future now stands

As your dreams dance sweetly night after night

I grow weary of the world that would steal your delight

I strengthen my body, to carry you still

I sharpen my tongue, to cut through the bars

I push our minds, so you know limits are laughter

Mother is my present, but you are the future

For I am nothing, in the shadow of your light

My daughter, my princess, my angel

Olivia Rose, by no other name could ever be sweeter

3 thoughts on “By Any Other Name…

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

